Close Article Return to stream X

Jose Maria Olazabal Names Europe’s Vice-captains for Ryder Cup

Today European Ryder Cup captain Jose Maria Olazabal named three of his four vice-captains for the upcoming challenge at Medina Country Club, Chicago.

Darren Clarke, Paul McGinley and Thomas Bjorn have been selected to deputize for Olazabal in the biennial golf competition between the Europeans and a US team.

As it stands the three will help motivate and cater for a team which currently comprises of Rory McIlroy, Justin Rose, Graeme McDowell, Paul Lawrie, Francesco Molinari, Luke Donald, Lee Westwood, Peter Hanson, Martin Kaymer, Ian Poulter. As well as these selections, another vice-captain will be announced by Olazabal on the 27th of August, alongside the Spaniard’s two wildcard selections.

There is no word yet on who the likely last deputy will be, but rumors are circulating that Padraig Harrington and Sergio Garcia still must show something special at the Johnnie Walker Championship at Gleneagles (which finishes August 27th) if they are to be selected as wildcards.

The Ryder Cup begins in September, and with too little time left to amass world ranking points for the year, there is no chance either man can make it into the automatic selection spots. However, for the US team, headed by Davis Love III, level of competition has meant that only eight members of his team are inked in.

Tiger Woods, Bubba Watson, Jason Dufner, Keegan Bradley, Webb Simpson, Zach Johnson, Matt Kuchar, and Phil Mickelson are all automatically selected. The make-up of the rest of the team could come down to Love’s preferences, but it is likely that Rickie Fowler, Hunter Mahan and Dustin Johnson will make the cut, with Bo Van Pelt and Brandt Snedeker being talked about for the last spot.

Love announces his four ‘Captain’s Picks’ on September the 4th. He has already named Fred Couples, Mike Hulbert, Jeff Sluman and Scott Verplank as his vice-captains.

Your Favorites