Virender Sehwag Leads Kings XI Punjab to IPL Finals

By Rohit Ghosh
Virender Sehwag Cricket IPL India
Photo courtesy of Virender Sehwag official Facebook

With a trip to the IPL title match on the line, Virender Sehwag put on one of the season’s top performances at a time when his team needed it most.

After losing to the Kolkata Knight Riders in Qualifier 1, Kings XI Punjab defeated Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 24 runs. Sehwag led the way with an unbelievable 122 runs off 58 balls.

Sehwag had been largely impactless for much of the season. The 35-year-old was showing his age over the previous 15 outings, and expectations were at an all-time low. Against CSK Friday, he reverted back to his younger days.

He raced to his half-century off 21 balls with seven 4s and two 6s. He reached his century off 50 balls with a numerous sixes off Jadeja, Ashwin, and Nehra

Scoreboard (via The Hindu):

Kings XI Punjab: Virender Sehwag c du Plessis b Nehra 122 (58b, 12×4, 8×6), Manan Vohra c Raina b Pandey 34 (31b, 1×4, 2×6), Glenn Maxwell c Raina b Ashwin 13 (6b, 1×4, 1×6), David Miller run out 38 (19b, 5×4, 1×6), George Bailey b Nehra 1 (2b), Wriddhiman Saha c Smith b Mohit 6 (4b, 1×6), Mitchell Johnson (not out) 1 (1b); Extras (b-1, lb-1, nb-1, w-8): 11; Total (for six wkts. in 20 overs): 226.

Fall of wickets: 1-110 (Vohra), 2-148 (Maxwell), 3-211 (Sehwag), 4-218 (Bailey), 5-225 (Miller), 6-226 (Saha).

Chennai Super Kings bowling: Ashish Nehra 4-0-51-2, Ishwar Pandey 4-0-35-1, Mohit Sharma 4-0-46-1, Ravichandran Ashwin 4-0-44-1, Ravindra Jadeja 4-0-48-0.

Chennai Super Kings: Dwayne Smith b Sandeep 7 (11b), Faf du Plessis c Bailey b Johnson 0 (1b), Suresh Raina run out 87 (25b, 12×4, 6×6), Brendon McCullum run out 11 (16b), Ravindra Jadeja c Johnson b Awana 27 (21b, 2×4, 1×6), David Hussey c Sehwag b Awana 1 (3b), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (not out) 42 (31b, 3×4, 3×6), R. Ashwin st. Saha b Akshar 10 (11b), Mohit Sharma (not out) 1 (3b); Extras (b-4, lb-4, nb-2, w-6): 16; Total (for seven wkts. in 20 overs): 202.

Fall of wickets: 1-1 (du Plessis), 2-67 (Smith), 3-100 (Raina), 4-140 (McCullum), 5-140 (Jadeja), 6-142 (D. Hussey), 7-167 (Ashwin).

Kings XI Punjab bowling: Mitchell Johnson 4-0-44-1, Sandeep Sharma 3-0-32-1, Parvinder Awana 4-0-59-2, Karanveer Singh 4-0-32-0, Glenn Maxwell 1-0-4-0, Akshar Patel 4-0-23-1.

Man-of-the-match: V. Sehwag.

KXIP won by 24 runs.

Rohit Ghosh is a Senior Writer for Follow him on Twitter @RohitGhosh. “Like” him on Facebook or add him to your network on Google.

You May Also Like