Kolkata Knight Riders Win IPL Title, Led by Manish Pandey

By Rohit Ghosh
Kolkata Knight Riders IPL Cricket 2014 Champs
Photo courtesy of IPL official Facebook

Chasing a steep 199/4 put up by Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) were hoping to be led to the title by the ever-so-consistent Robin Uthappa. After he was out after scoring just 5 runs, however, the door was opened for a new hero. This time, Manish Pandey dominated the pitch with 94 off 50 balls to help KKR to defeat KXIP by three wickets and claim their second IPL title in three years.

Pandey walked onto the pitch with all the pressure in the world on him. Once Gautam Gambhir was out after 23 scored runs, Pandey dug in deep to offset the early fall of wickets. Using his patience, Pandey was able to read the game well. Once he partnered with Yusuf Pathan, Pandey went on a roll, hitting five fours and two sixes to reach the half-century mark in 31 balls. It was his fifth IPL 50.

Due to Pandey and Pathan’s partnership, India’s run-rate never dropped below a dangerous level.

Biggest Moment of the Season: At EdenGardens Kolkata needed to chase 161 in 15.2 overs against Sunrisers Hyderabad – a feat that seemed unlikely. YusufPathan then scored 72 off 22 balls to lead KKR over Sunrisers to claim the No. 2 spot on the points table. Ultimately they earned a home qualifier where they defeated KXIP to earn the first spot in the finals. 

Fun Fact No. 1: Robin Uthappa is the highest run-scorer of the tournament.

Fun Fact No. 2Mohit Sharma is the highest wicket-taker in the tournament.

Rohit Ghosh is a Senior Writer for Rantsports.com. Follow him on Twitter @RohitGhosh. “Like” him on Facebook or add him to your network on Google.

You May Also Like