Talk about unfortunate. After dominating the field at the Oregon Scholastic Activities Association Class 5A state championship, senior Caroline Inglis walked off the course 9 shots better than any of her fellow competitors. She just needed to sign her scorecard and accept her 4th straight state championship title; a win that would make her the only golfer ever in Oregon, male or female, to win 4 consecutive state titles. Unfortunately for Inglis, the scorecard she signed had the incorrect score submitted.
She finished the tournament’s final round with a 3 under par 69, but her card said she shot a 4 under par 68. Inglis signed and submitted the card, and under the USGA rules that governed the tournament, she was automatically disqualified for submitting an incorrect scorecard. The issue arose from the fact that her playing partner inadvertently credited her with a par on the last hole, when, in reality, Caroline had a bogey on the finishing hole.
There are a few things that are incredibly unfortunate about these events. The first being that the score was being kept by Inglis’ playing partner, so Caroline did not even incorrectly record her own total. Obviously, it was her responsibility to make sure the score was correct, but I’m sure she was swept up in the emotion of winning her 4th straight state title and simply overlooked the error. The other thing that makes this so regrettable is the fact that she was 9 shots better than the next closest competitor, so the 1 stroke difference on the scorecard really made no difference at all, unless you take into consideration the whole disqualification thing.
Caroline Inglis can find solace in the fact that she will be taking her talents to the University of Oregon in the fall. I would be willing to bet that she is more diligent in confirming her score in the future.