BMW Championship: Tiger Woods’ Difficult 2nd Round Gets Worse After Two-Stroke Penalty
The second round of the BMW Championship was not exactly kind to Tiger Woods. His second 18 seemed to start off with a double bogey on the first hole. After the conclusion of the round, however, Woods was advised that he would be assessed a two-stroked penalty on that hole, giving him a quadruple bogey instead of a double. Woods would ultimately finish the second round one over par, moving him to four under for the tournament – seven shots behind co-leaders Brandt Snedeker and Jim Furyk.
Woods hit his second shot on the par-4 first hole over the green, onto a patch of dirt beneath a patch of trees. “He had a pretty large loose impediment behind his ball, which he moved, was no problem at all, and there was a little stick of some sort kind of obviously next to his ball, and when he rolled that, the ball in fact moved,” said PGA Tour vice president of rules and enforcement Slugger White. “He knew there was movement there, but it’s like very was adamant that it oscillated, it stayed there.”
Essentially, Woods thought the ball rocked back and forth but did not move out of position. According the video captured from the incident, it was determined that the ball did, in fact, move. That ultimately resulted in Woods violating rule 18-2a and was the impetus behind the two-stroke penalty. You might remember that Woods was assessed a controversial two-shot penalty at the Masters this year, as well.
This incident turned what was already a disappointing round into one that will likely leave Woods stewing overnight. He already squandered several scoring opportunities and the fact that he got two shots added to his score must be infuriating. The good news is that it doesn’t really matter where he finishes this week, Woods is guaranteed a spot in the final FedEx Cup Playoff event, the TOUR Championship. How he plays over the next two rounds will determine if he remains inside of the coveted top five, however.