Gerardo Parra Wins First Gold Glove Award


Diamondbacks left fielder Gerardo Parra was awarded his first Gold Glove on Wednesday. Parra becomes the D’Backs first winner since Orlando Hudson won the award at second base back in 2007.

Here are the rest of the winners for the National League.

P – Clayton Kershaw

C – Yadier Molina

1B – Joey Cotta

2B – Brandon Phillips

SS – Troy Tulowitzki

3B – Placido Polanco

LF – Parra

CF – Matt Kemp

RF – Andre Ethier

I am not going to lie, I was extremely surprised when I saw Parra’s name on this list. In recent years, voters have selected Gold Gloves based more so on offensive statistics than what an individual player does with their glove. Case in point why Derek Jeter has so many.

It is great to see players and managers give Parra this honor.  It was hard to find too many better defensive outfielders in the game than Parra was in 2011. He made only three errors the entire year to set his fielding percentage at a career high of .990 percent. He also had five double plays and a team-high 12 outfield assists.

You can expect Parra to get a hefty raise through arbitration during the offseason.

The big loser in all of this was Chris Young. For the first time in several seasons, Rawlings picked outfielders for specific positions. If it would have the normal format, CY probably would have won his first Gold Glove because he had a much better defensive season than Ethier did.

You May Also Like