And the MLB National League Gold Glove Finalists are...

By lauraludlum
Jayne Kamin-Oncea-US PRESSWIRE


While any award that is voted on, and not based solely on statistics and results, will always be a topic of debate and speculation, the MLB’s Gold Glove Award is among the top of those discussed.

It’s an award that’s voted on by managers and coaches (none of whom can vote for their own players), so they are voting on players who they may have only seen a handful of times throughout the season.  Nonetheless, it is still a major award, and if nominated for one, a player should feel a sense of pride in the way he plays the game.

Here are this year’s National League Gold Glove finalists for each position:

Catcher – Yadier Molina, Miguel Montero, Carlos Ruiz

First Base – Freddie Freeman, Adam LaRoche, Joey Votto

Second Base – Darwin Barney, Aaron Hill, Brandon Phillips

Third Base – Chase Headley, Aramis Ramirez, David Wright

Short Stop – Zack Cozart, Ian Desmond, Jose Reyes, Jimmy Rollins

Left Field – Ryan Braun, Carlos Gonzalez, Martin Prado

Center Field – Michael Bourn, Andrew McCutchen, Drew Stubbs

Right Field – Jay Bruce, Andre Ethier, Jason Heyward

Pitcher – Bronson Arroyo, Mark Buehrle, Clayton Kershaw

Three of the nominees are reigning champs: Either, Kershaw and Molina, who has won it for the last four years.

Thus the debating begins. For example, did St. Louis Cardinals center fielder John Jay get snubbed? He is the only non-pitcher to end the season with a 1.000 fielding percentage while nominee Stubbs has a .982 fielding percentage with 10 fewer total chances.

The winners will be announced tomorrow, Oct. 30, on ESPN 2 at 9:30 p.m. EST.

You May Also Like