Miguel Cabrera Wins Players Choice Player of the Year, is MVP Next?

By Chris Katje
Rick Osentoski-US PRESSWIRE

Miguel Cabrera received the highest honor from his peers this week. The Detroit Tigers third baseman was named the Player of the Year at the Players Choice Awards. Cabrera also took home the honor of Outstanding Player in the American League.

The Tigers slugger beat out finalists Andrew McCutchen and Mike Trout for the award. McCutchen was honored with the Outstanding Player in the National League Award. Trout is Cabrera’s main competition for the MVP award.

The award is one of many won by the Triple Crown winner. Cabrera became the first MLB Triple Crown winner since 1967’s Carl Yastrzemski. The former Boston Red Sox star won the MVP for his Triple Crown efforts, and Cabrera will most likely be rewarded as well. Cabrera hit .330 on the 2012 season, while hitting 44 home runs and driving in 139 runs for the Tigers.

Cabrera will be relying on the Baseball Writers Association of America to award him the MVP. Tigers pitcher Justin Verlander won the 2011 AL MVP with his performance in last season. Last year, Veralnder also won the Players Choice Player of the Year and Outstanding Pitcher in the American League.

If Cabrera can win the MVP, he would become the seventh different Tiger to win the award. Here is a look at past Tigers MVP winners:

  • 2011: Justin Verlander
  • 1984: Willie Hernandez
  • 1968: Denny McLain
  • 1944, 1945: Hal Newhouser
  • 1935, 1940: Hank Greenberg
  • 1937: Charlie Gehringer
  • 1934: Mickey Cochrane

A win by Cabrera would mark the first time Tigers players had won the award in consecutive seasons, since Newhouser won two years in a row on his own. Cabrera has won the majority of the awards in the MLB this season, and will be looking to bring another home soon.

You May Also Like