2014 Baseball Hall Of Fame Voting Was Owned By Atlanta Braves Icons

By Devin O'Barr
Bobby Cox
David Manning – USA TODAY Sports

If there was every any debate over which MLB team owned the 1990s; the Baseball Hall of Fame made sure to clear any doubts on Wednesday. Exactly a month after baseball icon Bobby Cox was elected into the Hall, the Baseball Writers of America sent two more Atlanta Braves to sit right beside their long-time manager for the rest of time.

Former Braves starting pitchers Tom Glavine and Greg Maddux are now Hall of Famers as the baseball team of the 1990s can now rest assured knowing that three of the team’s top players will be signing autographs with the letters “H.O.F” at the end. Both of these 300-game winners have earned their perch atop baseball. Maddux was more so a no-doubter than anyone on this year’s ballot as the stating pitcher managed to rattle off four straight Cy Young Awards and finish his career with 18 Gold Glove Awards!

Of course, a few bone-headed votes ruined Maddux’s shot as a unanimous, first-ballot Hall of Famer, but I don’t think we will hear any complaints out of the “Mad Dog” in the near future. Glavine also deserves some credit as this left-handed stud was a complete artist on the mound. By commanding nearly four or five pitches at one time, Glavine was able to nip the corners with consistency and work the strike zone like nobody’s business.

Furthermore, both of these Braves greats deserve the Hall of Fame honor as the city of Atlanta can now finally get over the Atlanta Falcons’ dreadful 2013 campaign.

Devin O’Barr is the Content Commentator for RantSports.com. Follow him on Twitter @DevinOBarrRS, “Like” him on Facebook or add him to your network on Google.

You May Also Like