Tampa Bay Rays' Evan Longoria Completes Cycle After Replay Review

By Anthony Blake

Replay review in MLB has been met with much resistance over the years, but Tuesday night proved that it was a much-needed addition to the game of baseball.

With Evan Longoria a double away from a cycle, the Tampa Bay Rays third baseman decided to dig deep and run for second on a ball hit down the line.

When you need a double for history, just RUN. Good things happen.

A post shared by MLB ⚾ (@mlb) on

Though he was initially called out, replay showed that Longoria’s hand reached the bag before the tag was applied, thereby confirming that he had completed the cycle.

And without video review, this career achievement would not have been possible due to an umpire’s error.

You May Also Like