Fighters Only Yearly Award Nominees

By Jeremy Green
Jon Jones UFC
Tom Szczerbowski-US Presswire

Fighters Only World MMA Awards recently issued their yearly nominees for different categories in mixed martial arts.  Some of the early favorites in each category include Jon Jones, Ronda Rousey, and Junior Dos Santos just to name a few.  Each fighter in each award section excelled in one particular category, whether it was an impressive knockout or submission.  Each one of these fighters mentioned below had some extraordinary moments in the year of 2012.

Charles “Mask” Lewis Fighter of the Year

Daniel Cormier, Nate Diaz, Benson Henderson, Jon Jones, Ronda Rousey

Female Fighter of the Year

Jessica Aguilar, Sarah Kaufman, Sara McMann, Ronda Rousey, Miesha Tate

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Renan Barao, Michael Chandler, Luke Rockhold, Ronda Rousey, Chris Weidman

International Fighter of the Year

Michael Bisping, Alexander Gustafsson, Chan Sung Jung, Martin Kampmann, Stefan Struve

Fight of the Year

Dan Henderson vs. Mauricio “Shogun” Rua, Michael Chandler vs. Eddie Alvarez, Jake Ellenberger vs. Diego Sanchez, Dustin Poirier vs. Chan Sung Jung, Jamie Varner vs. Joe Lauzon

Knockout of the Year

Adam Khaliev vs. Alexei Belyaev (League S-70), Edson Barboza vs. Terry Etim (UFC 142), Stephen Thompson vs. Dan Stittgen (UFC 143.), Anthony Pettis vs. Joe Lauzon (UFC 144), Brian Rogers vs. Vitor Vianna (Bellator 61)

Submission of the Year

Frank Mir vs. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira, Charles Oliveira vs. Eric Wisely, Rousimar Palhares vs. Mike Massenzio, Ronda Rousey vs. Miesha Tate, Chan Sung Jung vs. Dustin Poirier

These are just some of the awards, and the award show will be broadcast on national television.  You can submit your vote for each category by clicking here.

You May Also Like