Prelude To The Dream Was A Night Full Of Surprises

By Christy Valdez

Prelude to The Dream was a night of hard racing and surprises, it even gave Kyle Busch his first Prelude win.

Busch captured his first win at Tony Stewart’s charity race at the dirt track at Eldora Speedway. The night at the dirt track began with Busch making his qualifying run by hitting the wall. He suffered minor damage but that didn’t stop him from taking it all at the end of the race.

Kyle wasn’t the only Busch brother at the track as brother Kurt ran in the prelude race as well. Although Kurt Busch was suspened by NASCAR, he still ran the prelude to the dream since the race was not a NASCAR race. Kurt even told report Dick Berggren that he had not raced on a dirt track in five years. Although Kurt made it to the track he was out for the night after receiving damage to the car. In an interview Kurt made a comment that he probably wouldn’t say at the tracks.

“This is pay-per-view right? I don’t want to cuss, but i want to say that was more like premature ejaculation right there,” said Busch to reporter Dick Berggren.

The nights newest dirt track racer, Danica Patrick made her first attempt at a dirt track by placing 21st in her qualifying lap. She was 21st out of 26 from all of the qualifiers. In her heat race Patrick finished last after wrecking car. Afterwards Patrick and her sponsor awarded Feed the Children with a $25,000 check.

The Prelude to the Dream had a few surprises, Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s crew chief Steve Latarte was there as a pit reporter. Prior to the race Dave Blaney was no where to be found but he made it out in the end. Another surprise of the night was when Tony Stewart took Darrell Waltrip for a ride in a two seater, where Waltrip was screaming during the ride. Waltrip even drop a S word in there but it was Pay Per View so there’s no problem there.

The final results from the Prelude to the Dream are the Following:

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Tony Stewart
  3. Austin Dillon
  4. Donny Schatz
  5. Ryan Newman
  6. Aric Almirola
  7. Cruz Pedregon
  8. Dave Blaney
  9. Ty Dillon
  10. Justin Allgaier
  11. Jimmie Johnson
  12. Kenny Wallace
  13. Ray Evernham
  14. Bill Elliott
  15. Danica Patrick
  16. Kasey Kahne (OUT)
  17. Bobby Labonte (OUT)
  18. Jason Leffler (OUT)
  19. Clint Bowyer (OUT)
  20. David Gilliland (OUT)
  21. Ron Capps (OUT)
  22. Tony Kanaan (OUT)
  23. JJ Yeley (OUT)
  24. Ken Schrader (OUT)
  25. Steve Kinser (OUT)
  26. Kurt Busch (DNS)
Check out the videos below for one of the wrecks Danica Patrick was in and the final portion of the prelude to the dream.
Follow Christy Valdez on Twitter @Knowursports & on Facebook On The Sidelines With Christy

You May Also Like