Have feedback / suggestions? Let us know!


Turner Motorsports Makes Changes To Its Nationwide Teams

Turner Motorsports has decided to make changes to two of its team for the remainder of the 2012 season.

It was announced Tuesday by in a statement by Turner Motorsports that two of its Nationwide Series teams will receive changes effective immediately. The No.30 and No.38 teams will have their entire crew switched beginning at Bristol.

Both teams will swap their crews, which will include their crew chiefs, and pit crews. Turner Motorsports mentions in that the swap is a way for the organization to evaluate their Nationwide teams for the 2013 season.

Team owner Steve Turner says that the changes will make their Nationwide teams stronger.

“We have a responsibility to all of our marketing partners to consistently be doing everything we can do to make our programs stronger,” said Turner in the statement.

Trent Owens has been the crew chief for the No. 30 car in 2012. Owens along with the entire No.30 team went to victory lane this season with James Buescher and Nelson Piquet Jr. in the Nationwide Series. With the crew swap, Owens will now be the crew chief for the No.38 car that will feature drivers Brad Sweet and Kasey Kahne.

Mike Hillman Jr. will now be the crew chief of the No.30 car after being part of Miguel Paludo’s truck series team. Hillman has been a trucks series crew chief since 2005. Hillman was also with Paludo for the Nationwide race at Road America back in June.

“This personnel change is an effective way to evaluate each team’s strengths and to build upon them as we prepare to contend for a Nationwide Series championship in 2013,” said Turner

Follow Christy Valdez on Twitter @Knowursports and on Facebook at On The Sidelines With Christy