Ty Dillon Wins Trucks Pole In Atlanta

Ty Dillon will lead the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series field to the green flag Friday night in Atlanta.

Dillon won the pole for the Jeff Foxworthy Grit Chips 200 Friday afternoon after qualifying at 177.357 mph in 31.259. Friday’s pole win at Atlanta Motor Speedway is Dillon’s second pole of the 2012 season. Dillon’s first pole in 2012 was at the North Carolina Education Lottery 200.

Joining Dillon on the front row will be Tim George Jr. in the No.2 truck. Closing out the top five are James Buescher, Kyle Busch, and Nelson Piquet Jr.

Kyle Busch is the only driver within the field competing in triple duty during the race weekend. Joining Busch as the cup regulars in tonight’s trucks race are older brother Kurt Busch starting 15th and Aric Almirola starting 13th.

During the qualifying session in Atlanta, 39 trucks ran qualifying laps on the track. Three truck failed to make tonight’s race, Jeff Green, Jennifer Jo Cobb, and Norm Benning.

Rounding out the top ten are Johnny Sauter, Miguel Paludo, Bristol winner and trucks points leader Timothy Peters, Parker Kilgerman, and Matt Crafton.

Follow Chirsty Valdez on Twitter @Knowursports and on Facebook at On The Sidelines With Christy