Timothy Peters Wins The Pole For The Kroger 200 At Martinsville

By Christy Valdez
Credit: Tyler Barrick/Getty Images

With four races to go until the 2012 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion is declared, Timothy Peters will lead the trucks to the green flag at Martinsville.

Peters won the pole for Saturday’s Kroger 200 at Martinsville Speedway after he posted a qualifying lap of 96.411 mph in seconds. With his qualifying lap winning him the pole, Peter’s lap also set a new trucks qualifying record at Martinsville. Saturday’s pole win is also Peter’s second pole of the year along with his pole at Iowa.

The pole at Martinsville is also Peter’s sixth pole of his career.

Joining Peters on the front row will be Kevin Harvick. Closing out the top five are Brian Scott, Nelson Piquet Jr., and Denny Hamlin.

Saturday’s qualifying session had been delayed for a while after Trucks began to make qualifying laps due to weather.

In qualifying, 41 trucks made qualifying laps for the Kroger 200. Grant Enfinger, Brennan Newberry, Dennis Setzer, Jake Crum, and Todd Peck failed to make the race field.

Closing out the top ten for Saturday’s race are Ty Dillon, Matt Crafton, Johnny Sauter, Jeff Agnew, and James Buescher.

Heading into the Kroger 200 at Martinsville, Ty Dillon currently holds the points lead with one point ahead of second place Buescher. Peters sits in third with 26 points behind the leader. Parker Kligerman sits in fourth place with 34 points behind and Joey Coulter is in fifth with 50 points behind.

Christy Valdez is a member of the NASCAR Media. Follow her on Twitter @Knowursports and on Facebook at On The Sidelines With Christy 

You May Also Like