Chevrolet Sweeps NASCAR’s Top Series By Winning Manufacutrers Title In All Three Series


Upon capturing the manufacturers championship in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, Chevrolet continues their dominance within the rest of NASCAR’s series.

Following the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Texas, Chevrolet clinched their second manufacturer’s championship in NASCAR in the trucks series. During the same weekend in Texas, Chevy also captured the manufacturers title in the Nationwide Series. The championship sweep is the fourth time Chevy accomplishes this feature, previously in 1996, 1998, 2005 and now 2012.

Chevy’s U.S. Vice President Performance Vehicles and Motorsports Jim Campbell says the manufacturer is proud of the accomplishment.

“Chevrolet is proud to win all three NASCAR national series Manufacturers’ Championships,” said Campbell. “These three titles are a tribute to the passion and commitment of all of our team owners, crew chiefs, crews, drivers and technical partners.”

At the Texas race weekend, Chevy also achieved another accomplishment when Jimmie Johnson captured the manufacturers 700th Cup Series win.

Despite Texas race winner Johnny Sauter driving a Toyota, Chevrolet captured their second championship of 2012 when Nelson Piquet Jr. finished in third. The current points leader in the trucks series also happens to be a Chevy driver, with James Buescher.

In the 2012 trucks series season a Chevy driver has won11 of the 20 races. Two races remain within 2012.

In the NASCAR Nationwide Series Chevy clinched the title when Austin Dillon captured a second place finish at Kansas. Within the 2012 Nationwide season, a Chevy driver has made it to Victory Lane 12 times.

Throughout Chevy’s time is NASCAR, they have gone on to win 36 Cup Series manufacturers championships along with eight in the trucks series and 15in the Nationwide Series.

With two weeks remaining in the season Chevrolet Racing director Mark Kent looks forward to ending the season on a strong finish with the many Team Chevy teams.

“Congratulations and thank you to all of our teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, Nationwide Series, and Camping World Truck Series who worked tirelessly to capture these prestigious championships for Chevrolet,” said Kent. “These championships were made possible by an extraordinary level of cooperation among all of our teams, technical partners and Chevrolet engineers. We are now focused on a strong finish to the 2012 NASCAR season in NASCAR.”

Christy Valdez is a member of the NASCAR Media. Follow her on Twitter @Knowursports and on Facebook at On The Sidelines With Christy