Brian Scott Takes The Checkered Flag At Phoenix

Credit: Tom Pennington/Getty Images for NASCAR

After a chaotic race that led to extra laps under the lights at Phoenix, Brian Scott made it a night to highlight his 2012 NASCAR season.

In a race that began as a night with championship scenarios ended with a non truck racer taking home the checkered flag. In his last race with Kyle Busch Motorsports in 2012, Scott took advantage of a late caution and made a late race pass to take the win in a green-white-checkered finish at Phoenix International Raceway. In the final restart after a James Buescher caution, Scott took the lead over 2012 NASCAR K&N Pro Series East Champion Kyle Larson for his first win in the NASCAR season and second trucks win of his career.

Scott’s win was also the first non-cup driver win for KBM. With the win at the Lucas Oil 150, Scott became the 15th different winner in the 2012 Trucks season.

Larson would finish in second, followed by Joey Coulter, Timothy Peters, and Ryan Blaney to close out the top five.

Points leader Buescher would go on to finish in 17th after he would bring out the final caution. Ty Dillon would finish in 15th after some trouble in the race.

Ryan Sieg, Cale Gale, Pole sitter Nelson Piquet Jr., Ryan Truex and Justin Lofton round out the top-10.

Heading out of Phoenix Buescher continues to sit at the top of the points standings. After both Buescher and Dillon would suffer from incidents in the race, Peters would be the benefit from it as he moved up in the points. Peters currently sits in second with 11 points behind Buescher. Dillon would drop to third with 12 points behind the leader.

Homestead-Miami Speedway will host the final race of the season and will now be a battle consisting of three drivers now that Peters got his name back into the championship mix.

Christy Valdez is a member of the NASCAR Media. Follow her on Twitter @Knowursports and on Facebook at On The Sidelines With Christy