Kyle Busch wins the pole for the Ford EcoBoost 300

By Joseph Wolkin
Tyler Barrick/Getty Images

Kyle Busch has won his third pole award of the season in the NASCAR Nationwide Series. Busch will start upfront for the Ford EcoBoost 300 at the Homestead-Miami Speedway after a lap time of 32.146 seconds and 167.984 mph.

Starting next to Busch on the front row is championship contender, Elliott Sadler. Sadler just missed winning the pole award by a mere 47 one thousandths of a second. The driver of the Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet will be leaving the team after this weekend and must win this afternoon to have a shot at winning the championship. In the same race last year, Sadler started second as well, but ended up finishing in the sixth position.

Austin Dillon, who is third in points, will ironically start in the third position as he barely missed starting on the outside pole with a 32.194 lap time. On the outside of Dillon will be the points leader, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. Stenhouse’s car wasn’t that fast in either of the two practice sessions on Friday, but he was able to provide his team with the fourth starting spot, hoping to lock up the championship with a finish of at least 15th or better.

There were a few surprises in qualifying as Blake Koch, who is driving an underfunded car this weekend, will start in the ninth position. Regan Smith, making his debut with JR Motorsports, will start from the 10th position in preparation for a full slate in 2013.

Timmy Hill, Scott Riggs and J.J. Yeley were the three cars not to qualify on time.

Joseph Wolkin can be followed on Twitter at @JosephNASCAR.

You May Also Like