Five Unforgettable Moments Of The 2012 NASCAR Season

By Christy Valdez

As the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series is preparing to celebrate the 2012 champion and relive the season, many different moments surprised many throughout the season.

Throughout the 2012 season there were several moments within the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series that surprised, shocked, and created NASCAR history. From the very first race at Daytona International Speedway all the way down to the finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway, the 2012 season consisted of unforgettable and standout moments.

The 2012 Cup Series season began with the Great American Race, the Daytona 500 getting delayed several times and going into primetime tv, even leading up to a big bang on the track. The delay of the Daytona 500 was just one of the historic moments of the season.

Other moments include the oil slick finish at Watkins Glen, Dale Earnhardt Jr. raced his way into the All Star race but winning the showdown prior to the race. The 2012 season will also feature Earnhardt’s winless streak coming to an end at Michigan. Even the Budweiser Shootout featured many saves and a win from Kyle Busch.

The 2012 season also featured helmets getting tossed, fingers get wagged at other drivers, fights behind the wall, paybacks and Earnhardt sitting out for a concussion.

Historic wins were achieved in the 2012 season as well including Hendrick Motorsports capturing their 200th win, The No.11 car capturing 200 wins, and Joe Gibbs Racing capturing their 100th win.

Even the championship race between Brad Keselowski and Jimmie Johnson provided some unforgettable moments in the finish at Texas and the final race at Homestead.

The season even featured controversy with suspensions, and penalties. In the 2012 season it feature Kurt Busch missing the Pocono race, Tony Stewart, getting penalized for his car set up and the same penalty even happened to other drivers in the Nationwide Series. Even the No.48 team was penalized after the season opener.

Some many memories that occurred this season but five stood out and will go on to reflect the 2012 season.

You May Also Like