2013 Will Be A Good Year For NASCAR Rookies

By Christy Valdez
Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

The upcoming 2013 NASCAR season will be an interesting year especially for all of the rookies.

Throughout the season there will be several interesting battles to be the best in class within the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, Nationwide Series, and Sprint Cup Series. For the 2013 season within all three series their rookie classes will be one of the most competitive within the last few seasons.

With less than a week before the official start of the season many drivers have announced their plans for the year. Many drivers made their moves into new series and others will be making their debuts within NASCAR’s top three series.

The rookie class for the Truck Series will consist of Darrell Wallace Jr., Jeb Burton, and Brandon Jones. In the Nationwide Series it will have one of the bigger classes for drivers racing for Rookie of the Year honors. Kyle Larson, Nelson Piquet Jr., Jeffrey Earnhardt, Alex Bowman, Hal Martin, and Dexter Stacy will all be racing for those honors.

In the Cup Series it will be a showdown between three drivers. Two-time NASCAR Nationwide Series champion Ricky Stenhouse Jr. will go head to head every week with Danica Patrick and against Timmy Hill within 18-20 races for rookie honors.

As the level of competition continues to get higher and tougher one thing is for sure the 2013 season will feature much to talk about especially with its rookies. Several of the drivers have accomplished so many features throughout the series in their careers. As they get set to compete for rookie honors in their new series, it will provide some excited for fans and teams a like throughout the year.

With these drivers making their way up within the ranks of NASCAR and after some have accomplished much throughout their careers it adds the excitement and prestige into racing for rookie honors. For some of the series the new rookie class gives hope in adding back the prestige and honor into winning the rookie of the year as it had in years prior. With many of these drivers competing in full time status it gives it more meaning into winning the honor.

Christy Valdez is a member of the NASCAR Media. Follow her on Twitter @Knowursports and on Facebook at On The Sidelines With Christy 

You May Also Like