Legendary NASCAR Crew Chief Todd Parrott Suspended Indefinitely

By Joseph Wolkin
Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports

NASCAR legend, Todd Parrott, has been suspended indefinitely by NASCAR. Parrott, has been in NASCAR since 1995. He broke through into the sport with Robert Yates Racing, a place where he made history.

Parrott’s suspension is quite shocking considering his legacy within the sport.

“Todd Parrott, a crew member in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (#43 team crew chief), has been indefinitely suspended from NASCAR for violating the sanctioning body’s Substance Abuse Policy. On Oct. 17, Parrott was found to have violated Sections 12-1 (actions detrimental to stock car racing) and 19 (violation of the NASCAR Substance Abuse Policy) of the 2013 NASCAR Rule Book,” NASCAR stated in a press release on Thursday afternoon.

Throughout his career, Parrott has accumulated quite the resume. In 19-years as a crew chief, he’s led four different drivers to victory lane. Of course, Parrott was Dale Jarrett’s crew chief at RYR when the two won the championship in 1999.

Parrott is known not so much for winning races, but making drivers become more consistent than they have ever been. Even while working for teams that weren’t the strongest, Parrott was able to get the most out of the driver and the equipment.

A true team leader, Parrott’s suspension will surely hurt the No. 43 Ford team led by driver Aric Almirola. Since joining Richard Petty Motorsports in 2010, working with Elliott Sadler, Parrott has helped redevelop the Petty name. This year, he’s taken a young driver, bringing him into contention for top-10’s more frequently than they previously thought him capable of.

Though it isn’t known what substance Parrott was suspended for, the team does support NASCAR’s decision. Sammy Johns, RPM’s Vice President of Operations and Competition, will take over as Almirola’s crew chief until Parrott is deemed to return. John’s was a crew chief for nine seasons before taking the management position at RPM. He’s third in active wins list for active crew chiefs.

Joseph Wolkin can be followed on Twitter at @JosephNASCAR.

You May Also Like