IndyCar: 2014 Season 18 Races But More Compact Schedule

By James Williams
Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

The 2014 IndyCar series will feature a season that will begin in March at St. Petersburg and end Labor Day weekend in Southern California at Fontana. There will once again be an 18-race season but there will be less of a delay between races and gone will be the Grand Prix of Baltimore and the surprise dropping of the race in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

IndyCar will keep three doubleheader street races – in Detroit, Houston and Toronto – and they turned down a number of other cities that wanted to host doubleheaders. Promoters of the season opener in St. Petersburg, Fla. wanted to host one of the doubleheaders something that could happen in 2015.

There will be the addition of a new race at Indianapolis prior to the 500; the Grand Prix of Indianapolis will make its debut on May 10th in 2014. That will give Indy back-to-back races for the first time in history, one road race and the other of course the iconic oval.

In 2014, some races will be changing dates with the Grand Prix of Houston moving from early October to June 28-29 next year. The Milwaukee Mile moves from June to August and will serve as the first of three races in consecutive weekends to decide the championship.

2014 IndyCar schedule:

March 30: Streets of St. Petersburg (Fla.)

April 13: Streets of Long Beach (Calif.)

April 26: Barber Motorsports Park (Birmingham, Ala.)

May 10: Grand Prix of Indianapolis

May 25: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

May 31: Raceway at Belle Isle Park (Detroit)

June 1: Raceway at Belle Isle Park (Detroit)

June 7: Texas Motor Speedway

June 28: Reliant Park (Houston)

June 29: Reliant Park (Houston)

July 6: Pocono International Raceway

July 12: Iowa Speedway

July 19: Streets of Toronto

July 20: Streets of Toronto

Aug. 3: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

Aug. 17: The Milwaukee Mile

Aug. 24: Sonoma Raceway (Calif.)

Aug. 30: Auto Club Speedway (Fontana, Calif.)


You May Also Like