Erik Jones Makes NASCAR History At Phoenix

By Christy Valdez
Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

Erik Jones not only added his name into the 2013 win column, but he also added his name to the history books on Friday night at Phoenix.

At the Lucas Oil 150 at Phoenix International Raceway, Jones captured his first NASCAR Camping World Truck Series win after taking the lead on lap 142. Jones managed to maintain the lead over pole-sitter Ross Chastain, a battle of two young drivers looking for their first win.

Jones’s win at Phoenix not only gave him his first trucks win, but a place in the NASCAR history books as the youngest Trucks Series winner. Chase Elliott previously held the record after winning at the Canadian Tire Motorsport Park this season. Chastain finished in second, followed by Brendan Gaughan, Ty Dillon and Matt Crafton to close out the top five.

Heading out of Phoenix, Crafton remains the points leader after adding another top-10 finish to his season. James Buescher, who entered the race in second, was eliminated from championship contention after a ninth-place finish. Buescher fell down to third in the points while Dillon moved up to second.

Homestead-Miami Speedway will be the final chance for all drivers to capture a win in 2013. For Crafton, all he has to do is start the race to become the new Trucks Series champion, ending Buescher’s reign as the top truck driver.

Christy Valdez is a NASCAR writer for Rant Sports. Follow her on Twitter @Knowursports and on Facebook at On The Sidelines With Christy 

You May Also Like