Kyle Busch Takes Checkerd Flag As Matt Crafton Becomes NASCAR Trucks Series Champion

By Christy Valdez
Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

Matt Crafton may have been the only driver eligible for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship, but the drivers’ title wasn’t the only thing on the line on Friday night.

Whil Crafton captured his first Truck Series title, Kyle Busch went on to capture the win in the Ford EcoBoost 200 at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Heading into the race, both Crafton and Busch had the chance to win the owners’ championship for their respective teams, but Busch took the title at the end. Both the No.88 and No.51 trucks ended up tied in points for the owners’ championship, but Kyle Busch Motorsports won by virtue of a tiebreaker as they had the most wins.

After three attempts at a green-white checkered finish, the season came to an end with championship celebrations after Crafton and Busch raced to the end. Ryan Blaney finished in second followed by Jeb Burton, Brendan Gaughan and Ron Hornaday Jr. to close out the top five. Blaney, along with a second-place finish in the season finale, also left Homestead with Rookie of the Year honors.

The race at Homestead marked a new era in the Truck Series. As James Buescher’s championship reign came to an end, Crafton’s was just beginning. Prior to the start of the race, all Crafton needed to do to become champion was to just start the race. As the season came to a close, the order of the top 10 in the point standings and the gaps between each driver didn’t change.

Now the wait begins for the 2014 season and the return to Daytona.

Christy Valdez is a NASCAR driver for Rant Sports. Follow her on Twitter @knowursports and on Facebook at On The Sidelines With Christy

You May Also Like