2011 Naismith Hall of Fame

By Camron Smith

One of the greatest achievements you can receive as a basketball player or coach is the induction into a section known as “The Hall of Fame”. Tonight at 7pm ET,  Dennis Rodman, Chris Mullin, Artis Gilmore, Tara VanDerveer, Teresa Edwards, Arvydas Sabonis, Herb Magee, Tom Sanders, Reece Tatum and the legendary Tex Winter will have their names and careers honored as inductees into the 2011 Hall of Fame.

Springfield, Mass will be the site where these former players and coaches will join countless outstanding men and women that molded their respective paths into legendary careers. Each individual has shared a tremendous passion and respect for the game of basketball and in return, the game will pay these great men and women back.

The ten inductees were honored through various ceremonies and tributes that took viewers back into a time where these players and coaches reigned supreme.

The most colorful of the group, Dennis Rodman, was a rebounding force and defending genius during his time with the Detroit Pistons, San Antonio Spurs, Chicago Bulls and other NBA franchises. Rodman’s relentless motor on the defensive end became his calling card throughout his NBA career. His notable awards are being named a two-time Defensive Player of Year, winning five NBA championships and being selected to the All Defensive (First Team) 7- times.

Arguably, Tex Winters is the greatest mind in NBA history with his creation of the “Triangle Offense”. NBA dynasties in Chicago and Los Angeles relied on Winters offensive strategy that revolutionized the way players think and react on the basketball court. His illustrious 9 NBA championships came during the eras of Michael Jordan, Scottie Pippen, Shaquille O’Neal and Kobe Bryant.

Former NBA star Chris Mullin enjoyed a strong professional career and was a member of the 1992 USA Olympic team that won gold in Barcelona, Teresa Edwards is a four-time Olympic gold medalist in women’s basketball and was the first American to participate in 5 Olympic games, Artis Gilmore became an ABA and NBA force in his basketball career, Tara Vanderveer is one of the greatest college coaches in women’s basketball and still coaches at Standford University, Arvydas Sabonis is considered on the of best European players in basketball history, Reece “Goose” Tatum is known as the prince of the Harlem Globetrotters, Herb Magee is known for his iconic coaching career at Philadelphia University, Tom “Satch” Sanders was one of the members of the Boston Celtics championship teams during the 1960’s.

You can watch the entire  Hall of Fame ceremony on NBATV starting at 7pm ET.

You May Also Like