2013 NBA Playoffs: San Antonio Spurs Have Evolved Into a Dynasty

By Connor Muldowney
Spruce Derden-USA TODAY Sports

The San Antonio Spurs have become the NBA‘s most recent dynasty. Winning nine division titles since 2001 and four conference titles since 2003, playoff success has become a sort of norm for the veteran Spurs.

Tony Parker has led this team to a sweep of the young NBA sensation, the Memphis Grizzlies. Becoming a dynasty is nothing short of impressive as they now join the likes of the Chicago Bulls, Los Angeles Lakers and former Detroit Pistons in recent memory.

Each of those teams won many division titles, conference titles and even NBA titles during their reign of terror. The Spurs are no different, and have even kept the same core of star players throughout this reign at the top of the Western Conference.

San Antonio has three NBA titles since 2003 and four since 2009. Gregg Popovich has been one of the best coaches in NBA history and has claimed the best winning percentage in Spurs franchise history (.681). He has four NBA titles, and his playoff win percentage is also the best in franchise history at .605 with 118 postseason wins.

The coach has brought this team out of NBA mediocrity and turned them into one of the best franchises in the league. Never winning an NBA title before Popovich and winning four after he’s taken over in 1996 shows just how much of a dynasty he has built this club into.

Parker isn’t the only veteran to spend his career with the Spurs, as Tim Duncan and Manu Ginobili have been Spurs sensations for over a decade now and have helped bring this team to greatness.

Connor Muldowney is a columnist for RantSports.com. Follow him on Twitter @Connormuldowney, “Like” him on Facebook or add him to your network on Google.

You May Also Like