Miami Heat Claim Second Consecutive NBA Championship With Game 7 Victory

By Paul Seaver
Steve Mitchell-USA Today Sports

The Miami Heat have claimed the 2013 NBA Championship.

A thrilling, seven game series came to a conclusion on Thursday night, but the memories and records from the 2013 NBA season will live on in glory. From Tony Parker‘s crucial leaner in Game 1 to Ray Allen‘s game-tying three pointer in Game 6, excitement was never an issue in this top notch series. Danny Green broke the NBA Finals’ three point record, while LeBron James and Dwyane Wade shined in moments when the Heat needed them the most.

In the end however, only one could make history.

For a second consecutive season that was Miami, as James, Wade and Chris Bosh earned their second ring as a trio in three seasons. LeBron shined on Thursday night, once again silencing the critics that have followed him throughout his Hall of Fame career, scoring 37 points in the Game 7 victory. Wade hit some big shots of his own and although Bosh struggled collectively on Thursday night, he was pivotal in prior moments in this series.

With the 2013 NBA Championship in hand, James joins only Bill Russell and Michael Jordan among those who have won the league’s regular season MVP award and an NBA title in back-to-back seasons. His game-clinching jump shot with under 30 seconds to play all but sealed the deal for the Heat.

As for the San Antonio Spurs, the off-season becomes an interesting stretch, as fans will have to await a decision from Tim Duncan on whether or not he will return for another run at glory, while Manu Ginobili enters free agency at the age of 35, going on 36.

Regardless, another great ending to another great season in the NBA, as the focus will now turn to the draft and the free agent signing period.

For Miami, the focus instantly turns to a potential three-peat in 2014; can they get it done?


Follow Paul Seaver on Twitter: @PaulSeaverRS


You May Also Like