NBA Chicago Bulls

Top 5 Chicago Bulls Players of the Post-Jordan era

1 of 6

Top 5 Chicago Bulls players of the Post-Jordan era

Dennis Wierzbicki-USA TODAY Sports

After the Michael Jordan era, a lot of things changed for the Chicago Bulls. After the team won six championships, their head coach Phil Jackson went to Los Angeles to coach the Lakers back in 1999. Then Jordan himself opted to leave and enter his second retirement the same year, later returning in 2001 and playing till 2003 when he officially retired from basketball.

Also leaving were players from the Bulls’ championship roster like Scottie Pippen, Dennis Rodman, Steve Kerr, Luc Longley, Jud Buechler and Scott Burrell. They left through free agency or sign-and-trade deals, leaving the Bulls organization with no other choice but to rebuild and find the best players that they can. After the clean sweep of the players from their team, Chicago ended up missing the 1999 NBA playoffs.

In 2003, the rebuilding began, adding players like Ben Gordon, Luol Deng and Kirk Hinrich proved to set the Bulls’ back on the right track. Also in 2007 they obtained Joakim Noah as a draft pick. But in 2008, they quickly declined finishing with a 33-49 record, leading to them winning the NBA draft lottery and receiving the first-pick selection of Derrick Rose in the NBA draft that same year.

In 2010, they added current Bulls’ head coach Tom Thibodeau and finally saw a steady rise in where there team was headed. Since then, Chicago is still a long ways from how their roster was in the Jordan-era, but one thing’s for sure, the following five players helped them regain their playoff appearances as well as set them on the track for championship glory.

Candice Connell is a Chicago Bulls writer for Follow her on Twitter @Fetish_Princess.

2 of 6

5. Ben Gordon

Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

Some people may have forgotten about Ben Gordon, but he was once a primary piece for the Bulls'. He is the only player to receive the NBA Sixth Man of the Year Award as a rookie. Gordon is also second in career three-point field goals in the Chicago Bulls' franchise history.

3 of 6

4. Luol Deng

Dennis Wierzbicki-USA TODAY Sports

Luol has always been a steady piece in the rebuilding of the Chicago Bulls team. He will continue to be a unique player for their team.

4 of 6

3. Kirk Hinrich

Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

Kirk Hinrich is the Chicago Bulls all-time leader in three-point field goals. That's pretty impressive when the Bulls' had players like Michael Jordan and Scottie Pippen on their team.

5 of 6

2. Joakim Noah

Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports

There is no doubt that Joakim Noah will be apart of where the Bulls' team are headed in the future.

6 of 6

1. Derrick Rose

Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports

Derrick Rose will continue to lead this Bulls' team for years to come. He could be the first finals MVP, since Jordan, if Chicago wins the NBA title. With a player like Rose on their team, the Bulls' are going to have successful years ahead of them!