Kansas' Thomas Robinson Highlights AP All-American Selections

By Paul Seaver

The selections for the 2012 AP-All America team were announced on Monday morning and Kansas forward Thomas Robinson became the first unanimous selection to the group since Blake Griffin in 2009.

Robinson highlights a five-player group that ironically enough features zero guards, yet may also feature zero surprises.

Joining Robinson is on the 2011-12 first-team honors are Kentucky’s Anthony Davis, Creighton’s Doug McDermott, Michigan State’s Draymond Green, and Ohio State’s Jared Sullinger.

While narrowing a number of successful seasons down to only five players each year, this year’s selections appear spot on, while each of the five, respected players had fantastic seasons, not to mention three of whom have helped lead their teams to this year’s Final Four.

Kansas’ Robinson and Ohio State’s Sullinger will square in one Final Four match-up on Saturday, while Kentucky’s Davis leads the charge for the Wildcats in their match-up against Louisville.

Draymond Green became the do-it-all performer for head coach Tom Izzo, leading the Spartans to a No. 1 seed in this year’s tournament field. Green is the only senior in this year’s group.

McDermott, just a sophomore, was one of the top scorers in the nation, helping Creighton advance to the Round of 32 this past season.

As for Jared Sullinger, he too made a mark that has not been accomplished since 2009. Sullinger, who earned AP All-America honors last season, became the first such player to repeat since North Carolina’s Tyler Hansbrough just three seasons ago.

Sullinger also became the only player from the preseason AP All-America selections to be named to the first-team.

Rounding out this year’s second-team All-Americans were Murray State guard Isaiah Canaan, Marquette’s Jae Crowder, North Carolina’s Tyler Zeller, Missouri’s Marcus Denmon, and West Virginia’s Kevin Jones.


You May Also Like