Have feedback / suggestions? Let us know!

NCAA Basketball

Rant Sports NCAAB Conference Preview: Southland


Another year of college basketball is quickly approaching and in preparation, Rant Sports College Basketball Network Manager Paul Seaver will be breaking down and predicting the outcomes of each conference across the country.

Today, we look at the Southland Conference:


Just last season, with conference supremacy still up for grabs, Lamar head coach Pat Knight delivered a riveting press conference directed at  his senior leadership. While Knight’s media rant put the pressure on his senior class, Lamar responded by winning the Southland Conference tournament and qualifying for the NCAA Tournament.

Now looking ahead to the 2012-13 season, a new dog joins the party with its eyes set on an immediate conference crown. Oral Roberts made the switch this past off-season from the Summit League to the Southland and that spells bad news for some of the other competitors in the conference. You would think the loss of three starters would hurt the Golden Eagles, but not so fast. There is more than enough talent in Oral Roberts this season.

However, Sam Houston State, Stephen F. Austin, and Southeastern Louisiana all have the potential to crash the top of the standings and make a run at the league’s automatic bid in 2012-13.


Southland Predictions:

1. Oral Roberts

2. Sam Houston State

3. Southeastern Louisiana

4. Stephen F. Austin

5. Lamar

6. Northwestern State

7. Nicholls State

8. McNeese State

9. Central Arkansas

10. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi


First Team All-Southland Predictions:

G Brandon Fortenberry, Sr., Southeastern Louisiana

G Shamir Davis, Sr., Northwestern State

G Warren Niles, Sr., Oral Roberts

G LaQuentin Miles, Jr., Central Arkansas

F Steven Roundtree, Jr., Oral Roberts


Southland Player of the Year Prediction:

Steven Roundtree, Jr., Oral Roberts


Coach of the Year Prediction:

Scott Sutton, Oral Roberts


Newcomer of the Year Prediction:

Erik Williams, Jr., Sam Houston State


Last Team to Win NCAA Tournament Game:

2011- UT-San Antonio in “First Four” Play-in Game



Be sure to follow Paul Seaver on Twitter: @TheArenaPulse