Butler and Xavier Could Join "Catholic 7" to Form New Conference

By Kelsey Budd
Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

The Catholic seven have agreed to leave the Big East and form their own conference.  The seven schools, DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, St. John’s, Seton Hall and Villanova are all schools that do not have football.

This commonality will most likely play into the formation of a new conference.  Recently, there is talk that Butler and Xavier have both agreed to join the Catholic 7 in the pursuit of a new conference.

Looking at these nine schools, they could come together to form a very dominant conference.  All of these teams are competitive and many of them would have a legit chance at making the tournament at this point.

Since all of these schools don’t have football, this gives the conference an opportunity to attract a large fan base that would bring in a lot of money towards basketball instead of football.  They won’t have to compete with other schools in their conference to bring in revenue from football, leveling the playing field a bit.

This conference would immediately be packed with talent, but after a few years, the rivalries within the conference will only grow.

There is still talk about who else will join the conference.  VCU, Creighton and Dayton have all been mentioned as possibilities.

There have been a lot of conference changes in NCAA Basketball this year.  People have different opinions on whether they are good or not, but the development of this new conference is a good one in my opinion.



You May Also Like