X

Have feedback / suggestions? Let us know!

NCAA Basketball Georgia Bulldogs

NCAA: Georgia Bulldogs Face Early Road Tests in SEC

Daniel Shirey-USA Today Sports

Due to an open records request, the University of Georgia has obtained their full 18-game SEC schedule. The Bulldogs are coming off a 15-17 season and the loss of their star-player Kentavious Caldwell-Pope to the NBA Draft. While the early part of their SEC schedule doesn’t do them any favors, the rest of the slate is manageable for head coach Mark Fox.

The Bulldogs will have to travel to Missouri to open SEC conference play, and then play Florida just a week later. After two home games with Arkansas and South Carolina, they will have to travel to Kentucky to wrap up the month of January. Their schedule only has them playing Kentucky, FloridaOle MissAlabama and Tennessee just once. This will be a tremendous help for Georgia to keep a formidable record in the SEC standings. While they steer clear of the heavy hitters at the top, the ‘Dawgs play two games against LSU, Missouri, Arkansas, South Carolina and Mississippi State.

From Jan. 18 through Feb. 8, Georgia will host five of seven games in Athens, but finish the year with four of its final six games on the road. As much as the schedule may help, I still believe the season will be a roller coaster of highs and lows for this team. Head coach Mark Fox will always have them playing tough, and that will keep them in some games. I can also see this team losing some games they are favored to win.

As for the rest of the schedule, the Bulldogs will play in the Charleston Classic in November. According to the Boulder Daily Camera, Colorado and Georgia have agreed to a game at Colorado. However, the deal has not been finalized. In the non-conference, only one game has been changed. The game against Gardner-Webb has been pushed back to Dec. 19 and is set to tip at 11:30am.

Game Times for SEC games have not been released.

Here is the full SEC schedule:

Wed. Jan. 8 at Missouri

Sat. Jan. 11 vs. Alabama

Tue. Jan. 14 at Florida

Sat. Jan. 18 vs. Arkansas

Wed. Jan 22 vs. South Carolina

Sat. Jan. 25 at Kentucky

Wed. Jan. 29 vs. Vanderbilt

Sat. Feb. 1 at Auburn

Wed. Feb. 5 vs. LSU

Sat. Feb. 8 vs. Texas A&M.

Wed. Feb. 12 at Mississippi State

Sat. Feb. 15 vs. Ole Miss

Tue Feb. 18 at Tennessee

Sat. Feb. 22 at South Carolina

Thur. Feb. 27 vs. Missouri

Sat. March 1 at Arkansas

Wed. March 5 vs. Mississippi State

Sat. March 8 at LSU

Brian Lewis is an SEC Basketball writer for RantSports.com. You can follow him on Twitter, or add him to your network on Google.