NCAA Basketball March Madness

Updated List of Automatic Bids in the 2014 NCAA Tournament

NCAA Tournament

Scott Kane-USA TODAY Sports

With the NCAA Tournament quickly approaching, it’s time to start mapping out the famous bracket, or infamous depending on how well you usually fill it out. It’s starting to seem more and more like this year’s tourney will be as crazy — or crazier — than it’s been in years past.

Teams are already punching their tickets to the Big Dance and it’s time to start looking at who has already sealed their fate and will be playing for a national title and who doesn’t even have to worry when Selection Sunday comes on March 16.

Here are the automatic bids:

-Harvard Crimson (26-4, 13-1): Ivy League champions

-Eastern Kentucky Colonels (24-9, 13-5): Ohio Valley Conference champions

-Coastal Carolina Chanticleers (21-12, 12-5): Big South champions

-Mercer Bears (26-8, 14-4): Atlantic Sun champions

-Wichita State Shockers (34-0, 18-0): Missouri Valley champions

-Wofford Terriers (20-12, 11-5): Southern Conference champions

-Delaware Blue Hens (25-9, 14-2): Colonial Athletic Association champions

-Manhattan Jaspers (25-7, 15-5): Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference champions

-Milwaukee Panthers (21-13, 7-9): Horizon League champions

-Mount St. Mary’s Mountaineers (16-16, 9-7): Northeast Conference champions

-North Dakota State Bison (25-6, 12-2): Summit League champions

-Gonzaga Bulldogs (28-6, 15-3): West Coast Conference champions

-American Eagles (20-12, 13-5): Patriot League champions

-Tulsa Golden Hurricane (21-12, 13-3): Conference USA champions

-Albany Great Danes (18-14, 9-7): American East Conference champions

-Texas Southern Tigers (19-14, 12-6): Southwestern Athletic Conference champions

-Louisville Cardinals (29-5, 15-3): American Athletic Conference champions

-N.C. Central Eagles (28-5, 16-1): Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference champions

-UCLA Bruins (25-8, 12-6): Pac-12 Conference champions

-New Mexico Lobos (27-6, 15-3): Mountain West Conference champions

-Western Michigan Broncos (23-9, 14-4): Mid-American Conference champions

-Providence Friars (23-11, 10-8): Big East Conference champions

-Iowa State Cyclones (25-7, 11-7): Big 12 Conference champions

-Cal Poly Mustangs (13-19, 6-10): Big West Conference champions

-Weber State Wildcats (19-11, 14-6): Big Sky Conference champions

-Stephen F. Austin Lumberjacks (31-2, 18-0): Southland Conference champions

-New Mexico State Aggies (26-9, 12-4): Western Athletic Conference champions

-Virginia Cavaliers (28-6, 16-2): ACC champions

-St. Joseph’s Hawks (24-9, 11-5): Atlantic 10 Conference champions

-UL-Lafayette Ragin Cajuns (23-11, 11-7): Sun Belt Conference champions

-Michigan State Spartans (26-8, 12-6): Big Ten Conference champions

-Florida Gators (32-2, 18-0): SEC champions

Connor Muldowney is a columnist for Follow him on Twitter @Connormuldowney, “Like” him on Facebook or add him to your network on Google. You can also reach him at