Big East Football: Possible Division Realignment With New Teams

By Alex Callos

With so much talk about the Big East adding teams, discussions have already began about divisions for a 12-team football conference.

The addition of new teams such as Central Florida, Temple, Navy, Houston, Air Force and SMU would give the conference 12-teams.

Talks have started to divide those 12-teams into two six-team divisions. One division would be comprised of Rutgers, Connecticut, South Florida, Central Florida, Temple and Navy. The other division would have West Virginia, Louisville, Cincinnati, Houston, Air Force and SMU.

One division would have a more east coast feel while the second would be the teams from farther west.

While it has not been determined that these teams are definitely those that will be added, it is a strong possibility. If Boise St. does commit to the Big East, they would likely replace Navy and West Virginia would be shifted to the other division.

Villanova is also a possible replacement for Navy as they are still sitting on the fence.

This whole plan could blow to shreds if the Big 12 decides to add Louisville in 2012 after the departure of Missouri to the SEC. There is also a possibility of West Virginia joining the Big 12 if it expands to 12 teams. This would throw a wrench into the plans for the Big East and could possibly lead to the eventual dismantling of the football portion of the conference.

It seems that progress is being made for a conference that is still trying to save itself. Only time will tell if the Big East can not only save itself, but keep its automatic bid to the BCS.

You May Also Like