NCAA Football

2012 Maxwell Award Watch List Announced

Over the course of the next two weeks, we’ll be releasing the watch lists for several national college football awards.

The Maxwell Award honors the nation’s top overall player each season and is awarded by the Maxwell Football Club. Those voting on the award recipient include sportscasters, sportswriters, and members of the National Collegiate Athletic Association head coaches group.

Here is this year’s watch list:

Past winners of the Maxwell Award include the following:

2011: Andrew Luck

2010: Cam Netwon

2009: Colt McCoy

2008: Tim Tebow

2007: Tim Tebow

2006: Brady Quinn

2005: Vince Young

2004: Jason White

2003: Eli Manning

2002: Larry Johnson

2001: Ken Dorsey

2000: Drew Brees

The Maxwell, in the past, has been seen as the award given to the player who also has a very strong chance at winning the Heisman trophy. These two awards have not always gone hand-in-hand, but have often been won by the same player in a calendar year.

Needless to say, the players on this year’s watch list are some of the best in the country, from whom several will emerge not only as Heisman Trophy front-runners, but also the leaders for their respective teams and in their respective conferences.

Coming soon– the Bednarik Trophy Watch List!

Kris Hughes is the College Football Network Manager for Rant Sports and a member of the Football Writers Association of America.

You can follow him on Twitter or check out his Facebook page.

Kris is also the host of Rant Sports Radio on the Blog Talk Radio Network Wednesday evenings at 8 Central Time.