NCAA Football

2012 Mackey Award Watch List Announced

It’s a week of announcements in the world of college football awards. Today the watch list for the 2012 John L. Mackey Award was released to the public, honoring the top tight ends in college football.

Plenty of familiar names highlight the list, including Auburn’s Phillip Lutzenkirchen, who is the prohibitive favorite entering the 2012 season and could be an impact player on Sundays very soon.

Here’s the list:

  • Alex Bayer,  Bowling Green
  • Ted Bolser, Indiana
  • Chase Clement, LSU
  • Jack Doyle, WKU
  • Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame
  • Gavin Escobar, San Diego State
  • Joseph Fauria, UCLA
  • C.J. Fiedorowicz, Iowa
  • Brandon Ford, Clemson
  • Matt Furstenburg, Maryland
  • Crockett Gillmore, Colorado State
  • Chris Gragg, Arkansas
  • Hubie Graham, Pittsburgh
  • Ryan Griffin, Connecticut
  • Chase Harper, Texas State
  • Garrett Hoskins, Eastern Michigan
  • Malcolm Johnson, Mississippi State
  • Phil Lutzenkirchen, Auburn
  • Ryan Najvar, Baylor
  • Ryan Otten, San Jose State
  • Chris Pantale, Boston College
  • Jacob Pedersen, Wisconsin
  • Mike Ragone, Kansas
  • Kyler Reed, Nebraska
  • Lucus Reed, New Mexico
  • Jordan Reed, Florida
  • Mychal Rivera, Tennessee
  • Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington
  • Dion Sims, Michigan State
  • Jake Stoneburner, Ohio State
  • Levine Toilolo, Stanford
  • Michael Williams, Alabama
  • Luke Willson, Rice
There’s NFL talent across the board on this list, and several guys certain to make an impact not only in the running game for their respective teams this fall, but also as pass-catching threats.


As any football fan knows, multi-talented tight ends are en vogue these days with guys like Rob Gronkowski, Anthony Hernandez and Jermichael Finley opening up defenses and playing essentially as extra receivers.


While it may be unfair to compare anyone on this watch list to these established NFL stars, plenty of them have the same skill set that could allow them to one day be in this same select company.
Kris Hughes is the College Football Network Manager for Rant Sports and a member of the Football Writers Association of America.
You can follow him on Twitter or check out hisFacebook page.
Kris is also the host of Rant Sports Radio on the Blog Talk Radio Network Wednesday evenings at 8 Central Time.