2012 Doak Walker Award Watch List Released

By Chris Lionetti

Earlier today, the watch list for the 2012 Doak Walker Award, given annually to the nation’s top  running back, was released. Previous recipients of the award include Ricky Williams, Trent Richardson, and Darren McFadden.

The following running backs are the most talented in the country and have a chance at being the latest addition to the brotherhood of Doak Walker Award winners  :

Michael Alisa, BYU

Montee Ball, Wisconsin

Kenjon Barner, Oregon

Le’Veon Bell, Michigan State

Giovani Bernard, North Carolina

Rex Burkhead, Nebraska

Jesse Callier, Washington

Benny Cunningham, Middle Tennessee

Orleans Darkwa, Tulane

Knile Davis, Arkansas

Andre Ellington, Clemson

Johnathan Franklin, UCLA

Ray Graham, Pittsburgh

Gee Gee Greene, Navy

Jordan Hall, Ohio State

D.J. Harper, Boise State

John Hubert, Kansas State

Michael James, Miami

Waymon James, TCU

Nathan Jeffery, UTEP

Walter Kazee, San Diego State

Eddie Lacy, Alabama

Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina

Hunter Lee, Louisiana Tech

Zach Line, SMU

Raymond Maples, Army

Cameron Marshall, Arizona State

Onterio McCalebb, Auburn

Lyle McCombs, Connecticut

Curtis McNeal, USC

Christine Michael, Texas A&M

Latavius Murray, UCF

Branden Oliver, Buffalo

Joseph Randle, Oklahoma State

Silas Redd, Penn State

Kedrick Rhodes, FIU

Robbie Rouse, Fresno State

Jarred Salubi, Baylor

Anthon Samuel, Bowling Green

Orwin Smith, Georgia Tech

Isi Sofele, California

Shawn Southward, Troy

Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt

Eric Stephens, Texas Tech

Stepfan Taylor, Stanford

Fitzgerald Toussaint, Michigan

Matthew Tucker, TCU

James White, Iowa State

Montee Ball, a Heisman Trophy contender, along with names like Oregon’s Kenjon Barner, South Carolina’s Marcus Lattimore and Alabama’s Eddie Lacy headline the list but the race for the award is wide open. Each of the athletes on the 2012 Doak Walker Award Watch List possess a great deal of athletic ability and should find themselves in the NFL before long.

The PAC-12 and Big 10 both have seven players in contention for the award, with the Big 12 and SEC close behind with six players on the list.

You May Also Like