ACC Unitas Award Candidates

By Joe Giglio

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award committee announced their nominees for the prestigious honor on Thursday. Amazingly, the ACC leads all conferences in nominees with five. Here are the signal callers up for the award:

-Tajh Boyd, Clemson
-Mike Glennon, North Carolina State
-E.J. Manuel, Florida State
-Bryn Renner, North Carolina
-Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech

While the ACC was poised to have good quarterback play coming into the season, seeing the conference lead the nation in nominees was mildly surprising. Considering the game-breaking talents in the Big 12, this distinction shows the kind of offensive football the ACC can play, especially from the quarterback position.

According to the the Golden Arm Foundation website, the following criteria is used to determine the winner: Candidates must be completing their college eligibility or be a fourth-year junior, on schedule to graduate with his class. Candidates are judged upon character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities and athletic accomplishments.

The winner will be awarded on December 7 in Baltimore, Maryland.

The complete list of other remaining candidates:

-Matt Barkley, USC
-Nick Florence, Baylor
-Landry Jones, Oklahoma
-Collin Klein, Kansas State
-AJ McCarron, Alabama
-Aaron Murray, Georgia
-Denard Robinson, Michigan
-Geno Smith, West Virginia
-Tyler Tettleton, Ohio
-Tyler Wilson, Arkansas


Joe Giglio is the ACC and Big East football writer for Rant Sports. You can follow him on Twitter or check out his Facebook page.

You May Also Like