The Wisconsin Badgers Are Watching a Legendary Big Ten Battle

Brian Spurlock – US PRESSWIRE

Like it or not, the Wisconsin Badgers are headed to Indianapolis for the Big Ten Championship Game and their final two regular season games couldn’t be more ironic.

With both the Ohio State Buckeyes and Penn State Nittany Lions barred from postseason competition due to NCAA penalties, the Badgers will represent the Leaders division thanks to their 62-14 drubbing of the Indiana Hoosiers. Wisconsin’s final two games will be against the very same Nittany Lions and Buckeyes that are being held back from representing their division.

The dashing duo of Montee Ball and James White led the Badgers to victory as Ball racked up 198 yards on 27 carries scoring three touchdowns on the ground while White contributed 14 carries for 161 yards and two touchdowns.

Wisconsin’s Big Ten Championship Game opponent representing the Legends division is still yet to be determined, but the picture has cleared up somewhat. With the Nebraska Cornhuskers32-23 win over Penn State, Nebraska remains at the forefront of their division. The Michigan Wolverines rallied against the Northwestern Wildcats, toppling Pat Fitzgerald‘s squad 38-31 in overtime.

At this point, it appears that Nebraska and Michigan are sprinting towards the finish line, and the Cornhuskers may have the inside track. They face the Minnesota Golden Gophers and Iowa Hawkeyes to finish their regular season slate while the Wolverines face the Hawkeyes before travelling to The Shoe for their annual blood feud meeting with the Buckeyes.

Should Nebraska and Michigan find themselves with the same conference record at the end of the regular season, the Cornhuskers will advance to the championship game thanks to their 23-9 win over the Wolverines earlier this season.

In regards to how the remaining opponents for both teams have been playing, Michigan had best hope Denard Robinson can give it a go against a merciless Ohio State team.

Brandon Cavanaugh is a college football columnist for Rant Sports and member of the Football Writers Association of America. Feel free to follow him on Twitter and join in on the conversation.

Around the Web