2012 Heisman Finalists Named

By Marc Jenkins
2012 Heisman Trophy Finalists Announced
Gary A. Vasquez-US Presswire

With the 2012 FBS regular season now over and done with the Heisman Trophy finalists have been named and now just await the voting for the winner and trophy to be handed out on Saturday, December 8 in New York City.

The three finalists include Notre Dame Fighting Irish senior linebacker Manti Te’o, Kansas State Wildcats senior quarterback Collin Klein and Texas A&M Aggies freshman quarterback Johnny Manziel.

This season all three players have extraordinary resumes to stake their claim at college football’s most prestigious award including amazing individual statistics as well as helping their respective teams achieve collective success also.

Te’o led the Fighting Irish to a perfect 12-0 season and recorded 101 tackles along with seven interceptions while not proving himself as the best overall player on a team that will compete for a National Championship next month but also as their undisputed team leader.

Klein led the Wildcats to a 11-1 record and share of the Big 12 title while racking up a total of 3,380 yards (passing and running) and 37 total touchdowns with 22 of them coming on the ground.

Manziel may have had the best year of the three finalists as the freshman passed for 3,419 yards and 24 touchdowns while also rushing for an additional 1,181 yards and 19 more trips to the endzone and in the process led the Aggies to 10-2 record.

Many feel that Manziel is the favorite to win the award although anything could happen and it wouldn’t be much of a surprise to see Te’o become the first defensive player since Charles Woodson in 1997 to be named the Heisman winner.

You May Also Like