Oklahoma Sooners Receive All-Big 12 Honors

By Amanda Staver
Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

On Wednesday, the Big 12 conference handed out their end of the year hardware recognizing players for their performance throughout the 2012 season. A much deserving Kansas State Wildcats quarterback Collin Klein took home offensive player of the year and head coach Bill Snyder received the coach of the year honor.

Since the induction of the conference 17-years ago, the Oklahoma Sooners has won the most individual awards with 27. This season, they didn’t have anyone take home an individual award but had several listed on the All-Big 12 first and second teams.

The four Sooners listed on the first team are all juniors. Defensive back’s Tony Jefferson and Aaron Colvin, fullback Trey Millard and offensive lineman Gabe Ikard.

Five Sooners were listed on the second team included: defensive back Demontre Hurst, defensive end David King, wide receiver Kenny Stills, offensive lineman Lane Johnson and running back Damien Williams.

Finally, the honorable mentions were quarterback Landry Jones, wide receiver Justin Brown, punter Tress Way and offensive lineman Daryl Williams.

You can view the entire All-Big 12 team selections at big12sports.com.

The Sooners finished out the year with a 10-2 season and will be taking a trip to the Cotton Bowl to take on the possible Heisman Trophy winner, Johnny Manziel and the Texas A&M Aggies. In an interesting twist, the Sooners will have faced all three Heisman candidates this season after their bowl game and their only losses come to teams that house a candidate.

Sooner Nation hopes that this trend will be reversed come January 4th.


You May Also Like