CFB: Big East: Breaking Down The New Conference Scheduling

By VFCastro

On Friday, the Big East announced how conference opponents would be scheduled for 2013, but there seemed to be some grey area on social media, so here’s the breakdown in its’ simplest form:

One of the biggest questions arising from Friday’s release, was the same question many have been asking for months: Who are the Big East members? For starters, the San Diego State Aztecs and Boise State Broncos elected to stay in the Mountain West Conference, and Pittsburgh and Syracuse are leaving for the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Additions to the Big East are Southern Methodist, Houston, the University of Central Florida, and Memphis, who will be joining Temple, Rutgers, Cincinnati, Connecticut, Louisville, and the University of South Florida.

The original plan for the conference was to have 12 teams, which would be split down the middle to create six-team divisions with a championship game.

The new plan calls for each of the ten teams to play eight regular season conference games, so they will play all conference opponents except for one.

This was was the same plan as last year, except the conference only had eight members in the 2012 season.

The schedules will be released somewhere in the near future, however at his “Welcome Home” press conference in Lubbock, Texas, newly hired Texas Tech Red Raiders head coach Kliff Kingsbury requested that Cincinnati be on their non-conference schedule to face off against former head coach Tommy Tuberville.

Hopefully this new format will accommodate that request for a home and away series.

Follow VF Castro on Twitter: @VFdoesFootball

You May Also Like