Former Wisconsin Badger Ron Dayne Enshrined in NCAA Football Hall of Fame

By Brian Weidy
NCAA Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement 2012
Matt Cashore-USA TODAY Sports

More than a decade after he played his last game for the Cardinal and White, Ron Dayne was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Dayne was inducted with Ted Brown, Tedy Bruschi, Tommie Frazier, Jerry Gray, Steve Meilinger, Orlando Pace, Rod Shoate, Percy Snow, Vinny Testaverde, Don Trull and Danny Wuerffel. Dayne is in elite company among this group as he is one of three Heisman Trophy award winners in this group, including Testaverde and Wuerffel. Dayne joins the eight other Wisconsin Badgers who were inducted as players and becomes the 13th Badger selected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Dayne had a remarkable career for the Wisconsin Badgers, tallying up an NCAA record 7,125 rushing yards in his four year career. Dayne rushed for more than 1,450 yards in each of his four seasons, tallying more than 2,000 rushing yards in two of those seasons. Dayne also had the fourth most rushing touchdowns in NCAA history and held the top spot in the Wisconsin record books until this past season when Montee Ball surpassed him, en route to his record setting total of 77.

Dayne rushed for 20 or more touchdowns twice in his collegiate career, including in 1999 when he won the Heisman Trophy, collecting 2,034 yards and 20 touchdowns. In 1999, in addition to winning the Heisman, Dayne also won the Maxwell Award, the Walter Camp Award, the Doak Walker Award and was named a consensus All-American. To continue with his otherworldly accomplishments, Dayne led the Badgers to back-t0-back Big Ten titles and Rose Bowl victories and is the one of four players in Rose Bowl history to be named MVP twice.

Unfortunately, Dayne’s pro career did not live up to his collegiate one by any stretch of the imagination, tallying 3,722 yards in seven seasons for the New York Giants, Denver Broncos and Houston Texans. However, this does not diminish his achievements as one of the best college football players to ever play.

Dayne and the rest of the Class of 2013 will be officially inducted on Dec. 10 in New York City and then honored at the Sugar Bowl on Jan. 2, 2014, before being officially enshrined during the summer of 2014.

Brian Weidy is a writer for Follow him on Twitter @frostedweidies, “Like” his page on Facebook or add him to your network on Google.

You May Also Like