College Football: Will An SEC Player Win the John Mackey Award?

By Patrick Schmidt
Arthur Lynch
Brad Barr – USA TODAY Sports

The John Mackey Award watch list was released this morning, and five player from the SEC made the preseason list for the award given to the nation’s top tight end, which is named after the former Syracuse great and NFL Hall of Famer.

In alphabetical order, the watch list nominees are Rory Anderson from  South Carolina, Malcolm Johnson from Mississippi State, Arthur Lynch from Georgia, C.J. Uzomah from Auburn and Brian Vogler from Alabama.

Lynch is the preseason All-SEC first team tight end and had the most productive 2012 season of these five candidates, recording 24 receptions for 431 yards. Anderson leads the nominees with his five touchdowns from last season. Johnson is a breakout candidate for the Bulldogs this season provided he can stay healthy.

The tight end at Alabama who could and likely will overtake Vogler and play his way onto the watch list early in the season is true freshman O.J. Howard, who could be the most important freshman for the Crimson Tide’s potentially historic offense. At 6-foot-6, he will be a monster in the red zone and down the seam and looked like a future All-American in camp.

The SEC has had two winners of this award, which has been given annually since 2000, with former Florida tight end Aaron Hernandez winning in 2009 and D.J. Williams from Arkansas, who won in 2010.

He is currently suspended following a DUI arrest, but my prediction for this year’s winner is Washington junior Austin Seferian-Jenkins, who had 69 receptions for 850 yards and seven touchdowns last season. Tyler Eifert from Notre Dame took home the honor last year and was a first-round pick in this year’s NFL draft.

Patrick’s a college football writer for Rant Sports. Follow him on Twitter @PatrickASchmidt and add him to your Google network.

You May Also Like