Arkansas Razorbacks' Travis Swanson Early Favorite for Rimington Trophy

By Patrick Schmidt
Travis Swanson
Beth Hall-USA TODAY Sports

Nine of the 14 centers in the SEC made the initial Rimington Trophy watch list to lead all other conferences for the award that honors the nation’s top centers. While it may not be the most glamorous of awards, the pivot is one of the most important in the sport and these players are deserving of the attention this award generates.

David Andrews from GeorgiaEvan Boehm from MissouriJonotthan Harrison from Florida and James Stone from Tennessee are the representatives from the eastern division. Boehm is only a sophomore and made the move to center this spring and could be on this list the next two years.

Dillon Day from Mississippi StateReese Dismukes from AuburnRyan Kelly from AlabamaTravis Swanson from Arkansas and Evan Swindall from Ole Miss are the representatives from the west.

Kelly is a sophomore who has the responsibility of filling the big shoes of last year’s Rimington winner Barrett Jones who graduated from Alabama as one of the more decorated offensive linemen ever.

The best of the nine representatives, and a lock to be a finalist for the award, is Swanson who has started all 38 games of his Razorbacks career. He was a second team All-SEC performer last season and on the preseason All-SEC first team in 2013. If Swanson wins the award he will be the second Arkansas center to win the award after Jonathan Luigs won in 2007.

The Rimington Award has been given out since 2000 and has been won by SEC players on four occasions.

Patrick’s a college football writer for Rant Sports and radio host on Follow him on Twitter @PatrickASchmidt and add him to your Google network.

Related SEC Links:

Maxwell Award Watch List

Bednarik Award Watch List

Mackey Award Watch List


You May Also Like