OTA's Underway in Miami: Who's on the Bubble?

By Matt Gullette

Now that OTA’s are underway, it’s time to start thinking about who’s going to make the cut, who’s looking for a job and who’s riding the bubble of the Dolphins final 53-man roster.

For clarity’s sake, I have narrowed it down to 43 guys who I think will make the roster followed by a list of 20 guys who are on the bubble.

Here’s a list of those guys who are presumably safe:

-Offense: Chad Henne, Chad Pennington, Ronnie Brown, Lousaka Polite, Ricky Williams, **Patrick Cobbs, Brandon Marshall, Davone Bess, Greg Camarillo, Brian Hartline, **Anthony Fasano, Joey Haynos, Jake Long, Vernon Carey, Nate Garner, Jake Grove, Joe Berger, Richie Incognito, Donald Thomas, John Jerry

*Cobbs sustained a seas0n-ending knee injury last year, so his status really depends on his recovery., but given his versatility and terrific special teams motor, he is a lock for now.

*Fasano is a restricted free agent who has yet to sign his tender for a 2010 salary of $1.176 million, but I’m going to go ahead and assume he’ll be on the listed-roster for now, but keep in mind that may change.

Specialists: kicker Dan Carpenter, punter Brandon Fields and long-snapper John Denney.

Defense: Vontae Davis, Sean Smith, **Will Allen, Yeremiah Bell, Randy Starks, Paul Soliai, Kendall Langford, Philip Merling, Tony McDaniel, Karlos Dansby, Channing Crowder, Cameron Wake, Charlie Anderson, Reggie Torbor, Koa Misi, Tim Dobbins, Jared Odrick, ***Tyrone Culver, Chris Clemons, Reshad Jones
**Will Allen will be returning from a reconstructive knee surgery, but it’s safe to assume Allen will make the team since he was the best coverage corner on Miami’s defense last year.
***Culver/Clemons/Jones will all be competing for the same spot along; so for the sake of depth, I included all three of them on both lists for now.
Here’s some guys who are on the bubble:

-Tyler Thigpen, Pat White, Kory Sperry, John Nalbone, Lex Hilliard, Kory Sheets, Patrick Turner, Taurus Johnson, Julius Pruitt, Ryan Grice-Mullen, Andrew Gardner, Jason Allen, ***Chris Clemons, Tyrone Culver, Reshad Jones, Evan Oglesby, Nate Ness, Nolan Carroll, Quentin Moses, A.J. Edds, Austin Spitler, J.D. Folsom, Chris McCoy.

[poll id=”8″]

You May Also Like