The Greatest Team in Philadelphia Eagles History: 1948 Eagles (4) vs 1981 Eagles (13)

By Bryn Swartz

If you missed the intro to this series, click here.

For the first time, a historic Eagles team defeated a more modern Eagles squad, and not just defeat, but annihilate.

The 1948 Eagles, who won the first NFL championship in franchise history that season, crushed the 1981 Eagles 34-0. They led 14-0 just three minutes into the game and 24-0 at halftime.

Leading the way for the ’48 Eagles were running backs Steve Van Buren and Bosh Pritchard. Van Buren rushed 21 times for 132 yards and Pritchard carried 11 times for 106 yards and three scores.

’48 quarterback Tommy Thompson completed 12 of 18 for 163 yards and a touchdown, and the defense held the ’81 Eagles to 158 total yards and forced a pair of turnovers.

The 1948 Eagles joined the 2008, 2010, and 2004 Eagles in the winner’s bracket, and became the first old Eagles squad to beat a newer team.

You May Also Like