The Greatest Team in Philadelphia Eagles History: 2001 Eagles (8) vs 1981 Eagles (13)

By Bryn Swartz

The 1981 Eagles used a dramatic fourth quarter comeback to defeat the 2001 Eagles 25-15 and advance to the final four of the Greatest Team in Philadelphia Eagles History tournament.

The ’81 Eagles took a 10-0 lead after the first quarter but saw their lead evaporate when 2001 kicker David Akers nailed five field goals over the next two and a half quarters. With 1:44 left in the game, 6’8 receiver Harold Carmichael caught a six-yard touchdown and running back Wilbert Montgomery added the two-point conversion to give the ’81 Eagles an 18-15 lead.

Hubie Oliver rushed 14 yards for a score just 40 seconds later, giving the 81 Eagles a 25-15 lead and an unlikely victory.

’81 quarterback Ron Jaworski completed 10 of 18 passes for 119 yards and a touchdown, while Montgomery rushed for 98 yards and a score.

’01 quarterback Donovan McNabb threw no touchdowns and an interception in the loss.

You May Also Like