Drew Pearson, Charles Haley, Larry Allen to be Inducted into Dallas Cowboys Ring of Honor Sunday

By Jeric Griffin

The Dallas Cowboys will induct three new members into the team’s Ring of Honor during halftime of Sunday’s game against the Seattle Seahawks. Former Cowboys Drew Pearson, Charles Haley and Larry Allen will see their names unveiled on the literal ring around the upper portion of Cowboys Stadium during a ceremony.

Cowboys owner Jerry Jones is the one-man selection committee that decides which players will be inducted into the Ring Honor and when. Haley and Allen both played since Jones purchased the Cowboys in 1989. Pearson’s former teammate, Cowboys Hall of Fame quarterback Roger Staubach, had to persuade Jones to induct the original 88, who played for Dallas from 1973-1983.

“You want to go in on your own credentials,” Pearson said. “For 28 years, that wasn’t enough. That wasn’t working for whatever reason. I think somebody needed a little push. Nobody pushes any better with respect than Roger Staubach.”

Pearson set two franchise records during his decade with the Cowboys that have since been broken. Those records included 489 career receptions and 7,822 receiving yards. Now his contribution to America’s Team will finally be forever recognized.

Haley is currently working as an assistant coach under defensive coordinator Rob Ryan with the Cowboys, teaching younger players the ways of the game that made him a five-time Super Bowl champion, including three with Dallas. Haley is actually aiding current Cowboys linebacker DeMarcus Ware to break the Cowboys’ franchise career sack record. Ware only needs 2.5 more to tie Haley’s former teammate Jim Jeffcoat for the mark with 94.5.

Haley’s accomplishments also include five Pro Bowl trips and four All-Pro selections. He also joined the 100 Sacks Club, finishing his career with 100.5 total sacks.

Allen also won a Super Bowl with the Cowboys in 1995. His most notable accomplishment is 11 consecutive Pro Bowl trips, including 10 straight in Dallas. He was also voted an All-Pro seven times, all with the Cowboys.

The newest three Cowboys in the Ring of Honor won’t have their numbers retired; Dallas has never retired a number as is the custom of most teams. However, Pearson, Haley and Allen will all have their names forever entrenched in Cowboys history on Sunday, something all of them would agree is better than a number.

Contact Jeric Griffin on Twitter @JericGriffin

You May Also Like