NFL Detroit Lions

Detroit Lions 2012 NFL Schedule

On Tuesday, the 2012 NFL schedule was released for all 32 teams. Here’s a look at the 2012 schedule for the Detroit Lions.

Week 1 (Sunday September 9): St. Louis Rams

Week 2 (Sunday September 16): @ San Francisco 49ers 

Week 3 (Sunday September 23): @ Tennessee Titans

Week 4 (Sunday September 30): Minnesota Vikings

Week 5 (Sunday October 7): BYE

Week 6 (Sunday October 14): @ Philadelphia Eagles

Week 7 (Monday October 22): @ Chicago Bears

Week 8 (Sunday October 28): Seattle Seahawks

Week 9 (Sunday November 4): @ Jacksonville Jaguars

Week 10 (Sunday November 11): @ Minnesota Vikings

Week 11 (Sunday November 18):  Green Bay Packers

Week 12 (Thursday November 22): Houston Texans

Week 13 (Sunday December 2): Indianapolis Colts

Week 14 (Sunday December 9): @ Green Bay Packers

Week 15 (Sunday December 16): @ Arizona Cardinals

Week 16 (Saturday December 22): Atlanta Falcons

Week 17 (Sunday December 30): Chicago Bears

Last season was huge for the Lions as they finally ended their drought and reached the playoffs for the first time since the 1999 season. Matthew Stafford (5,038 yards with 41 touchdowns) finally managed to stay healthy for an entire season and Calvin Johnson (1,681 receiving yards and 16 touchdowns) proved his doubters wrong by showing he really is one of the top wide receivers in the league.

Of course, now the question is whether or not the Lions can live up to their success for a second-straight season and remain one of the top teams in the NFC. The weapons are certainly there on both sides of the ball; it’s just a matter of whether or not Detroit uses them to their advantage.

“Like” Dan Parzych on Facebook

Be sure to follow Dan on Twitter @DanParzych

Email Dan:

Be sure to check out the Rant Sports group on the new